South Australia’s Geospatial Excellence Award winners

By on 30 October, 2023

The South Australia winners of the 2023 Geospatial Excellence Awards were announced on 27 October at the Geospatial Council of Australia’s South Australia Geospatial Conference and Awards Dinner.

The Awards, formerly the Asia-Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards, are presented on a state/territory basis, with the winners going into the running for the prestigious annual Oceanic awards.

This year’s South Australian recipients, along with a Northern Territory recipient, are:

  • Environment and Sustainability Award, Community Impact: OZ Minerals, GP One Consulting and Esri Australia for the DigiSHEC (Digital Safety Health Environment Community) app.
  • Geospatial Enablement Award: OZ Minerals, GP One Consulting and Esri Australia for the DigiSHEC app.
  • Northern Territory Geospatial Enablement Award: Aerometrex and NT Farmers for the Advancing Holistic Agricultural Practices and Land Stewardship through LiDAR Innovation project.
  • Innovation Award for Medium-to-Large Business: The Australian Bureau of Statistics for the 2021 Socio-Economic Indexes for Areas.
  • International Partnership Award: Aerometrex for the Las Vegas High Resolution 3D Reality Mesh Model Project.
  • Technical Excellence Award: OZ Minerals, GP One Consulting and Esri Australia for the DigiSHEC app.
  • Workforce Development and Inclusion Award: Australian Spatial Analytics and Fugro for Onshore LiDAR Processing Utilising a Neurodiverse Workforce.
  • Undergraduate Student Award: Luke Pringle, who is undertaking his honours year for a Bachelor of Environmental Science.
  • Postgraduate Student Award: Marcio DaSilva, who is working on a multi-disciplinary PhD thesis entitled ‘Monitoring Coastal Dune Changes with Geospatial Technology’.
  • Diversity and Inclusion: Georgie Cassar, who has made contributions to the Women in Geospatial Science network and is Geospatial Team Leader at the City of Port Adelaide Enfield.
  • Future Leader of the Year: Harris Crettenden, Indigenous Land and Sea Corporation.
  • Professional of the Year: Neil Hewitt, founder of Precision Hydrographic Services.

All these winners — along with the recently announced winners from Victoria, NSW and Tasmania and Queensland — are now in the running for the prestigious Oceanic competition, as will be the soon-to-be-announced awardees from Western Australia and the Australian Capital Territory.

The Oceanic winners will be announced at the Locate Conference in Sydney in May 2024.

You may also like to read:


Sign up now to stay up to date about all the news from Spatial Source. You will get a newsletter every week with the latest news.

LINZ geospatial and property milestones in 2022–23
More than 3 million property searches and more than 100,000 ...
New guidelines released for IGS network CORS
The International GNSS Service guidelines are for owners and...
QuantX secures $750,000 for quantum-secured PNT R&D
The project will seek to harness quantum tech to guarantee t... raises an extra US$15 million
Series A round investment in the geospatial intelligence com...
Tilt-compensated RTK GNSS receiver
Emlid has announced what it says is the most powerful and fl...