Victoria’s Geospatial Excellence Award winners

By on 19 September, 2023
Image courtesy GCA

The Victorian winners of the 2023 Geospatial Excellence Awards were announced at a reception in Melbourne on 14 September, as part of Geospatial Council of Australia’s Victorian Geospatial Conference.

The Awards, formerly the Asia-Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards, are presented once per year on a state/territory basis, with the winners going into the running for the prestigious Oceanic awards.

This year’s winners are:

  • Community Impact Award — Veris and Cardinia Shire Council, for the Sealing the Hills project.
  • Environment and Sustainability Award — Spatial Vision, ThinkPlace and the Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water, for the Environmental-Economic Accounts Dashboard.
  • Geospatial Enablement Award — The Department of Transport and Planning, for Vicmap 3D Buildings.
  • Innovation Award for Medium to Large Businesses — The Department of Transport and Planning and Archistar, for the eComply: Digital Twin for Building Compliance project.
  • Technical Excellence Award — The Department of Transport and Planning, for Pioneering operational Geo-machine learning at scale: Automated waste tyre detection across Victorian Agricultural Land.
  • Award for Workforce Development and Inclusion — Winyama, for its Indigenous Mapping Workshop Narrm.
  • Postgraduate Student Award — Mai Nguyen, Monash University.
  • Educational Development Awards — Davood Shojaei (University of Melbourne) and Nick Buzza (part-time teacher of surveying and spatial information services at TAFE NSW).
  • Diversity & Inclusion Award — Melinda Borg, Principal GIS Consultant at Advisian.
  • Future Leader of the Year Award — Oscar So, Geospatial Analyst at Australia Post.

Craig Sandy, Surveyor-General of Victoria, also presented two special awards:

  • Excellence in Geographic Place Naming Award — Joint winners – Barwon Coast for the Bukareeyoo naming proposal; and Mornington Peninsula Shire for the proposal to name the Pauline Powell Walk.
  • Sustained Excellence in Cadastral Surveying Award — Raymund Francis Earls

All these state winners — along with the recently announced winners from NSW and Tasmania — are eligible for the prestigious Oceanic competition, as will be the soon-to-be-announced awardees from Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia and the Australian Capital Territory.

The Oceanic awards will be presented at a Gala Dinner to be held as part of the Locate24 conference in Sydney in May 2024.

You may also like to read:

, ,


Sign up now to stay up to date about all the news from Spatial Source. You will get a newsletter every week with the latest news.

LINZ geospatial and property milestones in 2022–23
More than 3 million property searches and more than 100,000 ...
New guidelines released for IGS network CORS
The International GNSS Service guidelines are for owners and...
QuantX secures $750,000 for quantum-secured PNT R&D
The project will seek to harness quantum tech to guarantee t... raises an extra US$15 million
Series A round investment in the geospatial intelligence com...
Tilt-compensated RTK GNSS receiver
Emlid has announced what it says is the most powerful and fl...