Queensland spatial leaders decorated at APSEA awards

By on 5 December, 2017

Peter Kinne accepts the Award for Technical Excellence on behalf of DigitalGlobe. Image provided by SIBA | GITA.

Five Queensland businesses and seven individuals received recognition for their achievements and innovation on Monday night at the Asia-Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards for Queensland, run by SIBA | GITA.

Entrants competed in categories covering spatial innovation, people and community, women in leadership, education development, spatial enablement, spatial export, and technical excellence.

The awards, run by the Spatial Industries Business Association (SIBA|GITA) and the Surveying and Spatial Sciences Institute (SSSI), celebrate the achievements of top spatial information enterprises and individuals.

Innovators with services and products related to surveying, mapping, remote sensing, geographic software, GPS technology, and location intelligence are recognised as part of the awards.

Winners of the 2017 Queensland SIBA | GITA awards in their respective categories are below.


Category: Award for Innovation and Commercialisation

Winner: Queens Wharf Brisbane by Land Solution Australia Pty Ltd

Highly commended: Emlid ReachRS – RTK GNSS for the
masses! by Alistair Hart, Mangoesmapping, Igor Vereninov and Emlid


Special commendation:

Springwood – the start of South East Queensland’s next CBD, by Aerometrex and Logan City Council


Category: Women’s Leadership Award

Winner: Megan Dillon


Category: Education Development Award

Winner: Stuart Phinn


Category: Award for Spatial Enablement

Winner: Laying the Foundations of a 5D Strategy, by Cohga Pty Ltd

Highly commended: Douglas Shire Council Lawn Mowing Tender by Alistair Hart, Mangoesmapping Pty Ltd, Peter Logan and Douglas Shire Council


Category: Award for Environment and Sustainability

Winner: Gully Erosion Monitoring for Reef Health, by Mangoesmapping Pty Ltd


Category: Postgraduate Student of the Year Award

Winner: Rebecca Runting


Category: Undergraduate Student Award

Winner: John Tasker


Category: Undergraduate Student Award

Winner: Scott Archbold


Category: Undergraduate Student Award

Winner: Leigh Tingle


Category: Award for Technical Excellence

Winner: Making of Geoscape by DigitalGlobe and PSMA Australia


Category: Professional of the Year Award

Winner: Kevin McDougall


Category: Young Professional of the Year Award

Winner: Ben Moritz


Category: Young Professional of the Year Award

Winner: Dale Atkinson


Category: Special Achievement Award

Winner: Ken Melchert


Category: Service to the QLD Surveying and Spatial Sciences Community Award

Winner: Peter Swan


You may also like to read:

, , ,


Sign up now to stay up to date about all the news from Spatial Source. You will get a newsletter every week with the latest news.

SBAS to give $6b economy boost
New analysis has found precise positioning could boost the A...
GDA2020 and overcoming the ‘Web Mercator Dilemma’
An exclusive feature from Position magazine: the GDA2020 dat...
Speak at Sydney Georabble in August
Share your passion with likeminded spatial denizens: GeoRabb...
Best of the blogs
Spatial Source’s fortnightly round-up of the best in carto...
OGC launches 3D IoT for smart cities pilot
The OGC opens a pilot 3D IoT platform for smart cities in co...
Phase One Industrial expands its long-range offerings
Phase One launches a new line of long-range glass for aerial...