2023 EISSI award winners announced

By on 20 September, 2023
Courtesy EISSI

The 25th annual NSW Excellence in Surveying and Spatial Information Awards (EISSI) were presented at a Gala Dinner in Sydney on 16 September.

An initiative of the Association of Consulting Surveyors NSW and the Institution of Surveyors NSW, the awards celebrate the achievements of organisations and individuals from across the state who are engaged in the surveying and spatial information profession.

This year’s event was attended by several dignitaries: Her Excellency The Honourable Margaret Beazley AC KC, Governor of NSW and Mr Wilson; The Honourable Jenny Aitchison MP, Minister for Regional Transport & Roads; and Narelle Underwood, NSW Surveyor General and Executive Director, Spatial Services

The winners and highly commended award winners are as follows:

  • Professional Surveyor of the Year —Gregory Frith
  • Young Professional Surveyor of the Year — Joint winners: Najib Nicholas and Nick Thompson
  • Professional Organisation of the Year Winner — Beveridge Williams
  • Sir Thomas Mitchell Award (for best overall project) — Monteath & Powys, ARTC– Inland Rail Project, Andrew Baker
  • Infrastructure and Construction Award — VFT Engineering Surveyors, Steven Smollett, Seyedvahid Motevalizadeh & Cedric Mashutam, for the Sydney Metro City & Southwest – Central Station Main Works Project
  • Extra Dimension & Innovation Award — Joint winners: DCS Spatial Services – Survey Operations, Jonathon Smith, Simon Hine, Nicholas Gowans and Conor Molloy, for the LandXML to SCIMS (LX2S) Pilot; and Woolpert, Ross Macdonald and Andrew Port, and CSIRO, Dr Jai Vase and Cherry Mateo, for the Northern Rivers Resilience Initiative – Bathymetric Survey in the Northern Rivers Region Catchment.
  • Community & Sustainable Environment Award — Department of Customer Service, Spatial Services, Narelle Underwood and Wayne Patterson, for the Bathurst Spatial Digital Twin Project.
  • Rural Cadastral Surveying & Land Titling Award — Casey Surveying and Design, Thomas Casey, for Carmel Lane Baradine
  • Urban Cadastral Surveying & Land Titling Award — Winner: Degotardi, Smith and Partners, Lachlan Broome, for The Explorers Trees Last Stand.
  • Urban Cadastral Surveying & Land Titling Award — Highly commended: Craig & Rhodes (Colliers Engineering & Design) – David Armstrong, for ‘The “Reserved Road” that wasn’t and the battle-axe handle that could have cut off a community – An exercise in adverse possession’.
  • Surveying Project Management Award — Winner: Monteath & Powys, ARTC– Inland Rail Project, Andrew Baker, for ‘Managing Australia’s Largest Infrastructure Project: Inland Rail – A Surveyors Perspective’.
  • Surveying Project Management Award — Highly commended: Craig & Rhodes (Colliers Engineering and Design), Adam Richardson, for Parade Pemulwuy
  • University Student Project Award — Matthew Bates, University of New South Wales, for ‘Managing Moving Monuments – Using Modern Technologies to Safeguard the Cadastre’.
  • Grant Kilpatrick Vocational Student Award — Rowan Kell, TAFE NSW Thurgoona
  • Outstanding Contribution to the Surveying Profession Award — Ian Iredale

You may also like to read:

, , ,


Sign up now to stay up to date about all the news from Spatial Source. You will get a newsletter every week with the latest news.

UK releases new Geography Profession Strategy
The Geography Profession Strategy 2023–36 outlines plans t...
NSW Spatial Digital Twin delivering a smarter future
Without a spatial digital twin, there can be no smart cities...
Best of 2023: From maps to multiverse
Geospatial is more than an industry — it is a phenomenon t...