Spatial excellence award entries now open

By on 8 July, 2017

It’s that time of year again for businesses and individuals to reflect on all that they have achieved in the past year. The Spatial Industries Business Association/Geospatial Information and Technologies Association (SIBA|GITA) and the Surveying & Spatial Sciences Institute (SSSI) are inviting spatial and surveying industry professionals to showcase their innovation and dedication by submitting an application in the annual excellence awards.

Each year, the Asia Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards (APSEA) and the SSSI Individual Awards serve to celebrate achievements of the spatial industry and showcase the finest projects and most significant performance of professionals that the spatial industry has to offer (click here for a list of the 2016-2017 winners).

The winners of each region—including The Pacific Islands, New Zealand and each Australian state and territory— go on to represent their region in their category at the Asia Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards held during the national Locate Conference (Locate18). This time, they will be held at the Adelaide Convention Centre in April 2018. The collaborative series of events are planned to showcase the inspiring achievements of continued innovation and dedication of individuals in the spatial industry.

RELATED STORY: New Zealand dominates this year’s Asia Pacific spatial and surveying awards. Left to right: Professional of the year Professor Wendy Lawson and Locate chair Zaffar Sadiq Mohamed-Ghouse.

This year’s spatial excellence award deadlines are fast approaching. Most of the regions have deadlines between August and October, however, if you are from South Australia you must act quickly. Entries are for South Australia are due 14 July 2017. For a full list of the deadlines, please see the end of the article.

This year’s SSSI Individual awards include a new category, the SSSI Women’s Leadership Award, which aims to recognise women who have demonstrated a significant contribution to the spatial industry and have shown potential to achieve and deliver benefits to the profession. It may also recognise any member of the spatial industry who has contributed to the advancement and career development of women in the spatial industry in a way that has had a positive and long-term impact.

Entries for this year’s spatial excellence awards have already opened through the online portal.

The categories this year include:

Industry Award Categories:

  1. Spatial Enablement
  2. Innovation and Commercialisation
  3. Technical Excellence
  4. People and Community
  5. Environment and Sustainability
  6. Export

SSSI Award Individual Categories:

  1. Professional of the Year
  2. Young Professional of the Year
  3. Educational Development Award
  4. Postgraduate Student Award
  5. Undergraduate Student Award
  6. Women’s Leadership Award

If you are not sure which industry or individual award category best suits your application, the APSEA Information kit has lots of useful information.


  • Australian Capital Territory – 30 October 2017
  • New South Wales (SSSI Individual Awards) – 30 October 2017
  • New South Wales (Industry Awards) – 30 October 2017
  • New Zealand – 31 August 2017
  • Northern Territory – 15 October 2017
  • Pacific Islands – 29 October 2017
  • Queensland – 11 August 2017
  • South Australia – 14 July 2017
  • Tasmania – 18 August 2017
  • Victoria– 14 September 2017
  • Western Australia– 15 September 2017

You may also like to read:

, , ,


Sign up now to stay up to date about all the news from Spatial Source. You will get a newsletter every week with the latest news.

UK releases new Geography Profession Strategy
The Geography Profession Strategy 2023–36 outlines plans t...
NSW Spatial Digital Twin delivering a smarter future
Without a spatial digital twin, there can be no smart cities...
Best of 2023: From maps to multiverse
Geospatial is more than an industry — it is a phenomenon t...